RSS

In Re: Satan Hall

10 Jun

This week has been challenging. I have rediscovered all the Lost Treasures that I had been working on, before I was appointed Editor of Arkham House Publishers by April Derleth in February 2009. Now that is not to say, I haven’t been working on all of these projects in the interim, but none of them has gone to press for a variety of reasons, mainly because I was developing projects with Bob Weinberg to re-establish the Arkham House forthcoming list in a definitive manner. To answer the question I have been asked many times since March 21st 2011 as best I can — Arkham House is in transition.

Now about these Lost Treasures. Where do I start? Well let’s start with yesterday. I worked through the fully proof read galley of The Satan Hall Omnibus, and inserted all the illustrations and covers where applicable. The galley grew to 538 pages, and Bob Weinberg is going to write an Introduction. There is some great eye-candy and I will provide some representative illustrations below.

These 24 stories by Carroll John Daly can hardly be described as great literature. They appeared between 1931 and 1954 in a series of Pulp magazine including Detective Story Magazine, Black Mask, Detective Tales, FLynns. New Detective, Black Book Detective and finally Famous Detective. They all can be described as great reads, and provided escapist reading for our grandfathers before there was television, the internet and iPads.

Satan Hall went through life, climbing up stairs annihilating bad guys stating the mantra “I am the Law,” which happens to be the title of two fo the stories! The one title proved elusive in the original form, and for a long time I believed that it was a reprint of the the first title, but I was wrong, bith titles are very different in content — same mantra however. You can link to my web page for further details:http://batteredbox.com/LostTreasures/26-SatanHall.htm

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
