RSS

Walking around my Home in Spring

14 Apr

I live on a property with a 100 foot frontage on Lake Eugenia, and it runs back to the road about 250 feet. It’s Spring here, and the crosuses along the driveway are in full bloom — purple, violet, yellow and white. The daffodiles and tulips are sprouting through the fall leaves, and are about two weeks away from bloom.

You will notice at the top of the small patch of crocuses they is a black outline. Ths is the back of my Dr. John Watson silhouette who collapsed over the course of the winter. I shall resurrect him shortly when the weather improves.

At the entrance there is some debris from the missed garbage put out by my neighbour who rents the cottage over the winter. Rather than complain, it will be easier to collect it myself with a green garbage bag in hand.

There are the usual twigs and branches fallen with the winter ice on trees and wind. One tree has snapped off altogether, and is hanging suspended over the driveway only supported from falling altogether to the ground by the adjacent treetrunks and branches.

Walking down behind the bookhouse I find a large patch of residual snow beneath the cedar hedge that edges the property. Maybe winter isn’t over after all?

Last year at the rock and stone quarry I acquired a number of patio stones, which had cracked or fractured in the wrong place. I thought they would make an excellent irregular patio around the poetry bench, but never got around to placeing them. They are all piled together ready for placing. I inspected the top of one of them, and noticed a fossilized snail. I wonder how long ago this little fellow lived upon the face of this earth?

When I returned to the cottage, I discovered my neighbour, a feral cat on the deck looking for a meal. When I approached she made her getaway. I wonder if she wanted some of those kernels of corn, and I’ll put a fresh batch of ears out a little later.

Finally I came in to find a bat flying around the cathedral ceiling. From time to time a bat falls into the cottage through the chimney, especially when it is not in use. the bat landed, a blue towel was thrown over it, and then placed outside on the deck. The little fellow rested there for about an hour, flapped his wings, opened his mouth, and made strange with me. I initially though the fellow was in ill health, but it flew away never to be seen again about an hour later.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 14, 2011 in House-on-the-Lake

 

One response to “Walking around my Home in Spring

  1. themadblonde

    April 14, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    They like to make you feel sorry for them for a bit before leaving. My husband found one in his shoe once- AFTER he’d been wearing it for 1/2 hour!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
