RSS

A Partridge in a “Punch”

08 Feb

… not in a pear tree … and not in December but rather on May 12, 1926 in Punch Magazine.

In an earlier  blog I referred to “Patrick” not Partridge, so I must find that and emend the entry according! I well remember the first time I saw this caricature of “Punch Personalities” — Cameron Hollyer showed it to me on the 5th floor of the Toronto Refernce Library in the Conan Doyle room in 1991. The caricature nicely captured what we had been discussing at the time — the character outgrowing the creator. I thought of it once again leaving the theatre after “Sherlock Holmes” on January1st, 2010.

Back in 2005, I was invited to attend a book club meeting of the Quadrangle Society at Massey College. It was held in the library lined on three walls with bookshelves, and windows on the fourth. The shelves were repleat with books by Canadian authors and other Canadiana volumes. Not a single Sherlock Holmes, Conan Doyle title in the lot. Of course I might have missed one or two, but I don’t think so. On one wall was a bound run of Punch magazine from the late 1800’s through the 1930’s. I had fun finding this caricature because I did not remember the exact date of publication, but had confidence it was there. Even with the index the caricature eluded me for a while!

The though has now crossed my mind how many other Sherlock Holmes related items can be found between the covers of that bound run of Punch? Well a quick electronic search of the e-USH (Universal Sherlock Holmes by Ronald Burt DeWaal) just might cast some light on that question, and that’s the subject of a future blog.

 

Leave a Reply

 
