RSS

The postage rates in Canada and the U.S.A.

19 Feb

I travel to the United States regular at least four times per year. I like to visit New York City in January; to Chicago in April to attend the Windy City Pulp and Paper Back Show; to Dayton Ohio in July to attend Pulpcon; to Sauk City, Wisconsin to attend The Walden West Festival. I usually accumulate my sales to ship at the very economical Media Rate with delivery confirmation. The Dominion of Canada does not offer such a rate, also charges a 5% GST on all Canadian shipments. A Venture card really doesn’t correct the situation, and it is simply a fact of life — ship to the U.S.A. from the U.S.A.

With the recent thickening of the border, taking these tubes of parcels across the border is viewed by US Customs as a commercial transaction,a and I must declare this crossing the border. Once I forgot to declare those tubes of books, and my car was searched, and I was almost turned back and denied entry. Cooler heads prevailed and I visited a US Post Office the next day to post all the book orders, and then continue on to my destination.

Even with the hassle, and it is significant obstruction, the net cost is cheaper, and the “delivery confirmation” is a very significant bonus that Canada does offer but at a large premium.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 19, 2009 in Philately

 

Leave a Reply

 
