RSS

China in the early 20th Century

11 Feb

When I was a younger man I served as a Regimental Medical Officer with the 11th Field Regiment in Guelph and I also went on exercise with 23 Hamilton Medical Company in Hamilton. This unit was commanded by Dr. A.R.C. (Dick) Butson at the time, and that was in the late 1970’s, so imagine my surprise and pleasure when Dick called me after I retired with a publishing project. He wanted to publish his father’s memoirs. I visited Dick and his wife Aileen at their home in Hamilton which is located on the mountain overlooking the city. Dick has a number of his mother’s water colour painting hanging on his wall, and I suggested we include them in the book as a colour suite, as well as using one of the cover. As soon as this project was complete, Dick had a second project for me, but more about this later.

MEMORIES OF CHINA (1910-1932) by Cecil Walter Butson

ISBN 978-1-55246-822-7 Quality Trade Paperback

memories-of-china

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 11, 2009 in Canadian Literature

 

Leave a Reply

 
